A life update: why haven’t I blogged?

You may or may not have noticed that I haven’t blogged for a while – over a month in fact – and that’s not like me. But, I’ve been so busy with the second year of my journalism degree at university that’s it has been hard to find the time!

The second year of my degree has brought a lot of new learning requirements and a few surprises too. I’ve been learning media law and doing my essential reading with my McNae’s book alongside my lectures and seminars. It’s very interesting so I love doing the essential reading each week!

CspHuQqWEAESCPB.jpg-large.jpg

My second year essential books/photo copyright © of Sophie Dishman. 

I’m also learning another language – at least it feels like one. It’s called Teeline shorthand. The easiest way to explain it is that it’s text speak but with symbols. It was hard to get my head around at first – why do we do it that way? What does this mean?

I do shorthand for six hours a week and do extra sessions to practice. It’s really important to practice shorthand because the pace is quite fast. I have to be able to write 100 words per minute by the end of May so shorthand practice and homework is a “must” and “need to do!”

I can write at 4o words per minute comfortably now and have tried 60 and 80 so I think I’m well on the way to getting my “gold standard” 100 words per minute.

Here’s an example of shorthand below:

14971348_1107869842653659_768531926_n

Shorthand/ photo copyright © of Sophie Dishman.

It says: I am sorry I have not been able to blog. I have been very busy at uni!

I also have two other modules, news journalism and magazine writing to focus on too! So it all hands on books! 

This “step up” has meant that I’ve had to step away from a lot of commitments I had last year, but it’s also meant that I’ve been able to “step up” in other parts.

I’ve become editor of my university news and current affairs website: SR News and have started to become more active on Spark FM as a presenter and a producer of the news show SR News Tonight.

As well as this, I’ve been able to begin a weekly placement at the Sunderland Echo, Shields Gazette and Hartlepool Mail (they’re all based in one place!). I’ve written a few articles for them already including some sports ones, which has given me a byline on a weekly basis.

I’ve applied for some opportunities and have some exciting events coming up in the next few weeks that I’ll be sharing with you so stick around!

I hope you’ve enjoyed this post!

I’m so glad to be back!

YPE

 Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

One comment

  1. That’s the thing with blogging sometimes life gets in the way, which I think is okay, hope all is going well with your studies 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

