Real Techniques Brush Collection Review.

14274356_1059307860843191_1798920849_o

© Copyright of Sophie Dishman.

Yes, I eventually have a decent amount of Real Techniques brushes and I’ve used them all long enough to tell you what I think of them!

Where do I begin? Their softness? The grip factor? The precision? I just keep asking myself why I didn’t get these before I did. I must admit I didn’t think they’d be worth the money – a tenner* (*or so) for a brush! I used to think “no thanks” and I’d whisk myself off to Wilkinson’s for my brushes. I’m not embarrassed by this as those brushes lasted me a long time, but I think I’ve learnt you get what you pay for.

The brushes I’ve got range from £7.99 to £10.99 as I bought them individually. You can buy sets of brushes but I didn’t want to. I really don’t know why though TBH as it probably works out cheaper! 

I have the:

  • Powder brush.
  • Expert face brush.
  • Stippling brush.
  • Sculpting brush.
  • Kabuki brush.
  • Concealer brush.
  • Blush brush.
  • Bronzer brush.
14329168_1059307854176525_1123990475_o

© Copyright of Sophie Dishman.

I’ve probably used the expert face brush, the sculpting brush and the powder brush the most as they’re the tools I use to apply my base makeup.

But anyway let’s get into the review!

Base brushes (& my beauty blender).

14329128_1059307897509854_1051824296_o

© Copyright of Sophie Dishman.

The base brushes are amazing. They’re probably my favourites out of all the brushes out there. They are so soft and that’s certainly not a bad thing as the bristles grip the product effortlessly. I haven’t noticed much fall out transferring the makeup from the pump or pot to my face so that’s pretty good going right?!

The brushes are really great for handling too. The rubber on the bottom grips onto your skin (ewww!) but it’s loose enough that you can still have great control over the way you put the product onto your face. If that makes sense? (Tell me it does!)

And finally the precision – my oh my! I’ve noticed my base goes on so much better because I can get into the parts of my face that are that little bit more difficult. The expert face brush is definitely expert for me!

I use my Real Techniques beauty blender (see picture above) most of the time to put on my foundation, but I’m just as happy to use my bronzer brush if I’m in a rush because it does just as well!

Finish brushes.

14329343_1059307870843190_1288435636_o

© Copyright of Sophie Dishman.

Moving onto the end of my makeup routine now with my finish brushes. I use the sculpting brush to do my contouring (hence the colour of it!) while the other ones are used for blusher, highlighter and powders. I use the kabuki brush if I’m in a hurry!

Similarly to the base brushes the finishing brushes are great! They’re soft, precise and great for handling too. They hold onto the product and grip your skin (I know, sorry!) well too.

14315437_1059307847509859_994013825_o

© Copyright of Sophie Dishman.

You can definitely use a little bit of pressure with all of these brushes. The bristles won’t snap because it feels like they’ve got some elasticity, they’ll bounce back. When I cleaned them the first time I thought I’d ruined them because they got wet – I was wrong of course, they hold their shape really well. Maybe a little too well in fact because they went back to their exact shape – it was scary. But longevity is something you want in your makeup brushes and I feel they go back to feeling “new” every time I wash them. What’s not to love about that? It’s like I’m falling in love again every few weeks!

The brushes are also really versatile – so even if your brush was made for a specific purpose you can mix and match. So you can use the blush blush for it’s purpose but you can also apply highlighters and bronzers with the brush too. Many of the brushes I have can be used for multiple tasks – perfect if I’m in a rush or just want a simple makeup routine with little or similar products.

I also like the way the bristles are formed on all of the brushes – some are packed close together meaning more precision like on the kabuki brush, while some are more spaced out like the powder brush. It’s so helpful as it means you get the coverage you want!

What else do I need to say? I can’t fault them.

Brilliant quality, versatile, cruelty-free and well worth the money.


What do you think of the Real Techniques brushes? As always let me know in the comments section below or on my social media accounts.

YPE

 Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

6 comments

  1. I’m obsessed with this brush brand so much!! Never fail to impress xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They are brilliant!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. annakadwill · · Reply

    I want to try some more of these brushes! Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I own the sponge but I would love to try the brushes!!! Maybe I’ll start off with a face brush when they go on sale :))

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The brushes are worth the money as I said in my review. The face brush is the most popular so it’s a great starter to introduce yourself to the brushes.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

