Dressing for how I feel.

I don’t really think I have a “style.” I have my go to pieces of course, but I like to mix things up. I guess you can say a lot of people are like that though? So what makes me that little bit different? My clothes reflect how I really feel. I don’t dress a certain way all of the time – somedays it’s a dress, other times it’s trainers and some jeans and other times it’s my go to staples – a white t-shirt, heels and my black skinny jeans. It all depends on how I feel. 

My mental health makes me feel “up and down” a lot. I can be anxious when I wake up in the morning and know I’m going to have a bad day, other times that anxiety creeps in later on. But either way I dress for how I feel in the moment – that exact moment when I walk to my wardrobe. That’s why I don’t feel I have a style.

A lot of people will obviously have their preferences day to day – the “I don’t really feel like wearing that today.” But for me it goes that little bit deeper. I want my clothing to reflect how I’m feeling – it’s a way of expressing myself. Trainers mean comfort, heels make me feel better (I don’t know why) and sandals give me the push I need – again I don’t know why. It’s amazing what fashion can do isn’t it? And that’s just shoes.

Of course, I’m a minimalist person when it comes to my clothing so how I’m feeling isn’t really given away that much in what I wear – but for the people that know me well I like to make an effort – I rarely just chuck something on in the morning unless I’m feeling super confident about how it will look – and that normally means I’m having a brilliant day with my mental health.

You’ve probably noticed by now that my fashion choices normally relate to how I’m feeling about my mental health. I just know when things in my mind are going to crop up so on some days I want to feel protected and other days I want to face them head on and challenge myself so much more than I would on a day when I want comfort from my thoughts.

I don’t think that’s a bad thing though – is it? 

I wear what I want to reflect how I feel.

Do you?


YPE

 Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

4 comments

  1. Loooove this post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. katiereablog · · Reply

    I can completely relate to this post. I am one who cannot plan the outfit the night before because I just don’t know how I am going to be feeling in the morning. Thank you for sharing this post, I am glad I’m not the only one. I am following your blog so that I can read more.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

