I’m a second year university student!

wpid-img_20141112_154129081_hdr.jpg

I’m a second year university student. Woah, it feels amazing to say that. I passed my first year of my journalism degree with a high 2:1 and I got my draft timetable on Monday for the first and second semester of the course. It’s fair to say I was a little overwhelmed when I got my timetable – why? 

If I wanted to put it simply it’s because I didn’t think I’d be able to go back to university last year because of where I was in terms of my mental health. Oh boy was it a long road having to wait to find out. I waited 5 months all in all to transfer to a different course in the same university as many of you will know by now. So to get onto the journalism course was overwhelming in itself.

Of course, my life has changed dramatically in terms of my mental health and my confidence since I started the journalism course last September. And what’s more people have noticed it!

I’ve also never been a second year university student despite being 22, but I’m okay with that, because it’s now the right time. So as you can imagine being able to call myself a second year student is an achievement in itself for me. This time around it’s looking like it’s third time lucky for me.

Amongst this excitement, I’m also pretty nervous because I’ll be in the same boat as everyone else. No-one in my year will have been a second year student before. I have some experience of university of course, but second year will definitely be a step up. My grades will count towards my degree classification which is quite nerve-wracking. I’ll be learning media law, shorthand and public affairs as well as developing my existing skills too so I’m expecting challenges – but while some people may not be looking forward to going back to university, I can’t wait.

I’m also excited to help out the freshers coming onto media courses at the university. It’ll be a new experience and I’ll get to show them just how brilliant the media hub is at the university. The buzz will be amazing so that’s also something I’m looking forward to!

Not to mention going on a haul for university – new clothes, a new bag, new stationery. Oh the joys!

All of this may not be a big deal to others, but it sure is a big deal to me!


YPE

 Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

Leave a Reply

