I’m a woman and a WWE fan. So what?!

There are a lot of misconceptions about female WWE fans – from the supposed idea that the only we watch just to ogle at the male wrestler’s bodies (we don’t – it takes more to be a WWE superstar than having a chiseled body) to the illusion that we don’t understand the matches.

First and foremost, I know that the shows are performed. The wrestlers are actors – they are playing a character and perform live at the various shows. The wrestlers can break character at points too. I’m fully aware of all of this, but I keep watching. Of course when I was younger I thought it was real – but that quickly faded once I developed more of an interest and did some research.

WWE is entertainment, it’s like watching your favourite soap opera. You watch it because you enjoy it and you know the storylines are played by characters. It’s the same in wrestling. I watch it because I enjoy it.

I’ve grown up with WWE. My grandma is still a huge fan even though she doesn’t watch it anymore – and me and my sister found our love for wrestling from her. It doesn’t just attract young girls – there will be women of every age who watch it. WWE brought me and my grandparents together on a Friday night as we sat down to watch WWE Smackdown. It was the highlight of my weekend – two generations together sharing a love for the same thing.

It became an even better highlight when my grandma recovered after her accident. Hearing her shout at the TV when her favourite wrestler was on was great – and something I miss.

I remember watching the likes of the Rock and John Cena – both of them are great in different ways and enjoying watching their athleticism and their ability to act. I also enjoyed their promos too and their theme music. It’s a package – a package of entertainment. 

I went to see the WWE shows live at some points too and it was an amazing experience. I loved the merchandise – so much so that I think I still have a lot of it!

Now onto the Diva’s.

When I do watch WWE I don’t get jealous of the Diva’s – I admire their athleticism and ability to act too. They’re much more on the same pedestal in the wrestling industry in my opinion. It’s about how you look, but it’s also about having the full package. There’s a lot that goes into being a WWE superstar as I said before. If you watch WWE’s Tough Enough, you’ll know what I mean. 

The WWE has definitely evolved and I’m proud that I know a little bit of the history behind it – I’ve evolved with it after all!
Of course I have my favourite wrestlers too – you probably have your favourite actors and actresses and characters in the shows that you watch. You become invested in the storyline and that characters journey. For example, when Eddie Guerrero died I was genuinely upset because I’d grown up with his character – or when the Undertaker’s streak was broken by Brock Lesner – I was genuinely shocked.

What I’m trying to say is that we are no different to male wrestling fans, any sporting fans or any fans of shows that are based on storylines. It’s difficult trying to battle the stereotypes, but I love being a woman and a WWE fan – I said so!


YPE

 Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

 

2 comments

  1. whateveritakes731 · · Reply

    I want to tell you that it was refreshing to read your post and think it is great that women are just as passionate about Professional Wrestling as the men. I am sure there are a lot of misconceptions about how men looking at the sport. Thank you for sharing your insight.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! There’s definitely misconceptions about men and sport too. No problem.

      Like

Leave a Reply

