5 mental health books I want to read.

As you may know last week I went on a book haul – yeah! Two mental health books were in the haul – Bryony Gordon’s Mad Girl and Lily Bailey’s Because We Are Bad. I can’t wait to read both of these books but I have so many other books that are in need of reading first. So I’ll have to wait. *Sigh*

But after buying these two, it got me thinking – what other mental health books are out there? I did some research and here’s 5 mental health books I want to read – yes they’re on my wishlist right now.

  1. The Wrong Knickers – A Decade of Chaos by Bryony Gordon. I’ve been told I should read this book before I read Mad Girl. It’s a book about adult life and our 20’s. I’m in my twenties now so I’m hoping I can relate to the book at some point. I’ve read a few of Bryony’s columns so I know the book is going to be a good read as she writes so well!
  2. Am I Normal Yet by Holly Bourne. I promise not all of these books will be about OCD, but I’ve heard a lot about this book. I know that the book covers a lot of issues including mental health and recovery as well as “normality” and feminism to name a few. It’s not entirely about mental health but I think it’ll be a good read.
  3. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. I’ve heard of the movie – but I’ve never seen it. I’ve heard of the book but I’ve never read it. I didn’t want to do too much research on this book as I know it’s a classic and that it’s been out a while. All I really wanted to know was that it’s a story about a guy named Charlie.
  4. The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien. This book is about PTSD (post traumatic stress disorder) and about soldiers in the Vietnam war. It’s a mental health problem I don’t know much about so it’ll definitely be an educational read for me. I like history too, so it’s the perfect novel to learn from for me, in my opinion.
  5. Stop Pretending by Sonya Sones. Mental health problems affect the person that has them but they also affect the people around them. This book – from what I’ve researched – explores this and how it can make people drift apart. Something I know first hand.

    What books about mental health have you read? Have you read any of the above? 

Let me know in the comments section below or on my social media accounts.

YPE

 Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

Leave a Reply

