Summer Book Haul.

I’ve been stuck in the house for a number of days now because of migraines. Ouch! So yesterday I decided to head into town to pick up a few things. And as usual I came back with a lot of new things. But this time, it wasn’t just makeup, I bought some new books too.

It’s always great to go into a book shop and pick up a book – or a few in my case.

There’s just something about having a physical book in your hand instead of a e-reader. It’s that smell of a good ol’ fashioned paperback or hardback, if you prefer. Is it just me? I hope not. But anyway, as you may have seen I wrote a book wishlist a few weeks back on my oldest friends blog – well I only got two books off the list.

Here’s what I got on my book haul!

13816897_1022623401178304_162500694_n

© Photo: Copyright of Sophie Dishman.

  1. Mad Girl by Bryony Gordon (£14.99). Bryony Gordon speaks about her OCD in this book and as a person with OCD too it’s something I wanted to read. But that’s not the only reason I want to read this book. Bryony is a columnist for a national newspaper and so much more. I really want this book to be a challenge and a motivator. If she can do it, then I can AND I will too.
  2. I’m Still Here by Clélie Avit (£16.99). This was definitely an impulse buy. I was looking for another book and came across it. The title definitely jumped out at me and from there the blurb did too. That’s when I knew it was meant to be – it was book fate. I don’t want to spoil what it’s about but the front cover gives you a little inkling. It definitely feels like a book-corner book – so the sofa it shall be.
  3. And the Mountain’s Echoed by Khaled Hosseini (£8.99). Now do I really need to explain why I picked up this book. If I do then Hosseini is my favourite author so that’s one reason, but it was also on my wishlist. Short and simple.
  4. Because We Are Bad: OCD and a Girl Lost in Thought by Lily Bailey (£14.99). I’ve been searching for this book for weeks. And I mean pretty much everyday for weeks. I didn’t want to buy it online because it’s nice to have it on your hand and buy it in person. That’s just me. Yesterday I eventually got it and I can’t wait to read it. The book is similar to Bryony’s book in that it talks about OCD. But OCD affects people differently so I’m looking forward to reading Lily’s experience.
  5. Nomad by James Swallow (I paid £9.99 in my local WH Smith’s store). This was another impulse buy. I’m interested in an array of books and this one seemed different so I thought why not? It was on sale too so that was a bonus!
13815004_1022623397844971_1570024165_n

© Photo: Copyright of Sophie Dishman.


Have you bought any new books recently? Let me know in the comments section below or on my social media accounts.YPE

 Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

Leave a Reply

