Regrets and mistakes: student edition.

Looking back on my school days I’m often filled with not so many good memories. The days where I was happiest I was studying my favourite subjects and learning about different cultures and lifestyles. I wasn’t exactly a sociable person back then and didn’t really care much about fitting in with the crowd. So I guess looking back I made a few mistakes and regret only two things.

Mistakes

These are things I look back on and have learnt from – 100%. These are the things that I could have changed but I couldn’t in that moment.

Standing up for myself is one of these things. I never stood up for myself.  Being bullied does take its toll so I used to let people get to me and grind me down until I couldn’t take it anymore. I’ve learnt from that and learnt to say when something is bothering me or is getting me down. It’s about being truthful to myself and to others.

I think it was because of being bullied that I was afraid to make friends. I was scared that they’d “turn on me.” I had a few friendships but they never lasted apart from one. But that person has been there for me since the age of 3 so I’m not sure if that counts.

Another mistake I made was not listening to myself and my family in terms of my education. My education has been one of the most important things to me since I was a little girl. It was part of my upbringing to focus on school and do as well as I could.

Regrets

When it came to choosing my GCSE options I chose Health and Social Care and History. I loved history! But I also enjoyed French and German and was actually very good at them both. I chose my head over my heart and my mum told me I’d regret the decision. Years later and I wish I’d kept both languages up because it would have benefited me more in the long run!

The next regret comes from choosing my A Levels. I loved English so naturally chose a lot of English options. I also picked psychology. I wanted to take physics but felt pushed away from it because I wasn’t good at maths. I loved physics and was surprisingly good at it – I got an A grade and a B grade at GCSE level. But I didn’t listen to myself and went with what everyone else thought I should do.

They’re opposite regrets really – I should have listened to my family and not myself, but on the flip side I should have then listened to myself and not others.

But education is all about learning – not only about different subjects but also yourself.

These regrets are slowly ebbing away to just being mistakes that I’ve made but I sometimes wonder what I’d be doing if I had chosen to study French and German and then Physics at AS Level. Who knows?

If you are in high school now and are about to pick your subject options my advice is to talk to others but listen to yourself. Only you can make the decision and make the right one for you. All of the decisions I made were right for me in that moment, but looking back they weren’t right for me in the long run. Think of the future and not just the present – you may be pleasantly surprised.

There is a lot of pressure these days to get it right in the moment. It’s not always possible, but try. If you don’t get it right then it’s fine – learn from it. I certainly have!


Do you have any regrets or mistakes from school that you’ve now learnt from? Let me know in the comments section below or on my social media accounts.

YPE

 Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

Leave a Reply

