Seven books you should read.

Since I’ve finished university for the summer I’ve been doing a lot of leisurely reading – and managed to get through a few books (woo!) People have recommended a lot of books to me and I’ve often taken their direction. So here’s seven books that I’ve read that I think you should read.

  1. Everyday Sexism by Laura Bates. I recently finished this book whilst on holiday after having it for a number of years – yes, a number of years! It shares people’s experiences of sexism and for me it was a challenging read. I love a book that makes me think and this book certainly did!
  2. A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini. I had to include this primarily because it’s my favourite book of all time! But it is my favourite book because it taught me a lot of powerful lessons about society, but also about myself – to love and to laugh and to push through times I find difficult.
  3. The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat by Oliver Sacks. I bought this book not really knowing what it was about but after I started reading it I couldn’t put it down. It’s a book about different neurological disorders – but it isn’t as medical as you’d think. Going by the title it’s a rather interesting and insightful read into the human mind.
  4. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. If you’ve seen the film then I really do recommend that you read the book as it’s just as captivating. A man’s wife disappears – what happened to her? Well you’ll have to read it to find it – it’s the best thriller I’ve ever read!
  5. Ed Sheeran: A Visual Journey by Ed Sheeran and Phillip Butah. I think this is the only autobiography I’ve ever read so it’s obviously going to be the best one I’ve read. He talks about his early experiences of music and his influences which is something I was intrigued by as a fan of his songs. If you’re looking for something autobiographical to read then I recommend this! The pictures are great too!
  6. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. This is the first book that made me cry – no other book has been able to do it since. I actually ruined my copy because I cried onto the paper too much! If you’ve seen the film then you should definitely read the book if you haven’t already – the way John writes is perfectly captivating and emotional. I think it’s the book I’ve read the fastest too – it took me a day!
  7. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey. As a person with mental health problems I felt that I needed to read this book, but I was also recommended it because it’s one of the classic novels. It’s a striking read and taught me a lot about my own mental health recovery.

    What seven books would you recommend people read? 

Let me know in the comments section below or on my social media accounts.

YPE

 Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

2 comments

  1. If you liked Gone Girl, then read Dark Places – also for Gillian Flynn. It’s amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

