It’s okay to be unsure and to change your mind.

Remember when you were younger and when someone asked you what you wanted to be you’d say a nurse, a fireman or something that you liked in that moment? Then as you got older you started to really think about the direction you wanted to go in – not too much as it wasn’t that important but you started to think a little deeper. Maybe you wanted to be a gymnast or a singer or maybe even a footballer?

Then you hit your teens and it’s like woah! That’s when you need to have a good idea and need to have goals in mind. You don’t have to set them in stone but they should be pretty steady, right? You’ll start having your careers talks and have people talking to you about picking subjects that will benefit you in the future for your “chosen” career. That’s how it goes throughout school and when it starts to matter more. What did you want to be at 13, 16 or even 18?

Well I can tell you that at 16 I wasn’t too sure – I thought about being a nurse, a lawyer, a psychologist, a speech and language therapist, a police woman – and so much more. I was one of the ones that didn’t know exactly.

At 18, I wanted to be a journalist, things changed again at the age of 19 and 20 – maybe I wanted to be a learning disabilities nurse or a social worker. I set my heart on social work, but if you’ve been reading a while you’ll know how that went…

Fast forward to 2016 and I’ve made my mind up at the age of 22 – I want to be a journalist.

It’s taken me that long to decide and no-one’s told me to hurry up and decide. I kept my options open at school and college as I had a few career options in mind.

You may think I’ve eventually made my mind up – I have but I’m still not sure what type of journalist I want to be.

Now think back to what you wanted to be as a child, is it still the same now? Chances are probably not. If it is the same then hats off to you!

But what if you don’t know?

What I’m trying to say is that it’s okay to not know what you want to do and it’s okay to change your mind once you think you are set. Life allows you to change the course of your career. You can change careers quite freely and no-one can tell you that once you are in one career that you can’t get out of it.

I’ve come to accept that it’s okay to want to do different things. In fact in the past year I’ve wanted to be a different type of journalist – a magazine journalist working on a glossy magazine, a broadcast journalist working on the radio, a reporter, a print journalist working on a national newspaper, or maybe on a local one. I’m not sure and that’s okay.

Don’t worry if you don’t know exactly what you want to do – some people don’t know until they’re in their 20s, 30s or even their 40s! It’s possible that some people find what they want to do even later than that and some people change their careers after many years in a career they love.

You’re not the only one who’s unsure – you WILL figure it out, it might just take longer for you to decide – and that’s okay.

YPE

Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. GirlMasked · · Reply

    Brilliant post, very reassuring

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

