The study doesn’t surprise me.

Disclaimer: If you are affected by this post then please seek professional support and advice. 

As a woman and as someone under the age of 35, I’m at the greatest risk of developing anxiety according to new study by Cambridge University. I already have three anxiety disorders – OCD, health anxiety and social anxiety all bundled up into one definition – anxiety-related OCD. I already have an anxiety disorder x3 but if I didn’t I’d still be at risk.

Anxiety disorders can include OCD, phobias, PTSD and specific types of anxiety i.e. social and health anxiety (hypochondria).

The study reviewed existing scientific literature – but how do I feel about this?

For me it’s nothing new.

I knew I was more likely to get an anxiety disorder – but I didn’t think I would be diagnosed with one if that makes sense. I don’t think it comes across anyone’s mind that they may be diagnosed with a mental health problem in the future.

The study affirms that maybe I couldn’t stop the chance of it happening – maybe. 

Would I want my OCD and anxiety to go away of course I would, but I still would be more likely to get an anxiety disorder. I can’t get away from that.

There are other factors that could have come into play of course, for example my brain chemistry, personality as well as my experiences that could have influenced the likelihood too.

Something clicked in my brain for me and that was it – a split second – and my life changed forever. I couldn’t help it. However, it isn’t like that for everyone.

Everyone has a different experience and anxiety disorders occur in different ways.

But this just confirms for me that my age and my gender could have contributed to me getting diagnosed with the mental health problems I now have.

I wanted that confirmation. I feel better now. It’s not my fault.


What do you think? Let me know in the comments section below or on my social media accounts? 

YPE

Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

Leave a Reply

