They’re not just songs to me.

Many of us love music and some of us may have songs that mean something to us. It could be the lyrics, the beat, the person it’s sung by or maybe it’s because you attach that song to a memory. I have a lot of songs that mean a lot to meI have them all on a playlist on Spotify called “Meaningful Melodies.” I want to share seven of them with you and why they’re not just songs to me.

  1. Can’t Help Falling In Love by Elvis Presley and The Jordanaires. This has been a favourite song for many people in my family. It was my dad’s mum’s favourite song and I never met her so it gives me some connection to her. I also have memories of dancing and singing to this.
  2. Heal the World by Michael Jackson. This song brings back memories of when I was on holiday. My sister was on stage dressed up as an angel holding a friend’s hand and people were gathering around her making a circle and singing. It’s a lovely memory!
  3. Beauty and the Beast/Tale as Old as Time by Beth Fowler. Beauty and the Beast is my favourite film and there’s something about the ballroom scene that makes me well up!
  4. Kings and Queens by Thirty Seconds to Mars. This song reminds me of volunteering with Spark and SR News this year. It’s normally played while I’m on my news shift and brings back the memories of who I’ve interviewed and the opportunities I’ve had since starting in September.
  5. Cambridge, 1963 composed by Johann Johannson. This song reminds me of seeing the film The Theory of Everything (which is where the song is from). The film is about Stephen Hawking – who is someone I admire. Plus this song makes me smile!
  6. On My Way by Phil Collins. On My Way is one of the songs you can dance to in your bedroom. I have some funny memories with my partner that are associated with this song so it had to go onto this list!
  7. The Cave by Mumford and Sons. The Cave is my favourite song by Mumford and Sons because it reminds me of growing up in my teenage years. I used to listen to this song on repeat!

    What songs have memories for you? Let me know in the comments section or on my social media accounts.

YPE

Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

Leave a Reply

