Learn to believe and you will achieve.

Self-confidence hasn’t always been my strong point. In school and college I didn’t really believe in myself as much as I wanted to. There was some confidence there but it wasn’t a lot. I didn’t think I’d get to university or pass my GCSE’s or A Levels as well as I wanted to. But I’ve achieved all of these things.

Recently I’ve started to believe in myself a lot and my confidence has come through. I’ve started saying yes to things, trying new things out and going for opportunities I wouldn’t normally – all because I now believe in myself.

But where has this sudden belief come from?

There are three reasons:

  1. Because I’m now on the right course and feeling like I know where my passions lie within it. Being on the journalism course has been life-changing for me. I’ve made so many contacts and people I look up to and admire from organisations have sang their praises about me like Eamonn Holmes and someone from BBC Radio 4 (just today!). If these people see something in me then I see it in myself too.
  2. It comes with experience. Some people are confident straight away – they’re naturally confident, with others – like me – it takes time. And now I’ve finally found my confidence. It’s an amazing feeling and if you haven’t found yours yet then you’ll get there. I still have my “off” days of course – but many of us do!
  3. Taking on opportunities that are out of my comfort zone. I think this really came to fruition when I got my interview with Eamonn Holmes. I wouldn’t have been able to do that in September as I’d of been too scared. He’s a celebrity of course! But now it doesn’t phase me – they are people like you and me – they’re just more well known.

I never used to believe that much and although I used to achieve I was never satisfied. It never sunk in that I’d done it because I believed in myself. I thought it was luck.

When I took a knock to the little confidence I had it stung. It was one of my weaknesses. Now I’m open to constructive criticism. It helps me learn and gives me more experience.

Now I’m not saying having a belief in yourself works magic and will get you everything. Hard work and determination comes in to play too as well as other things. But having a belief in yourself can help!

I’ve learnt if you don’t ask it will always be no and that if you don’t try an opportunity or experience then you won’t know. We fear the unknown but once we try it then we know!

This realisation has made me feel a lot better about myself and I’m glad as it’s been a long time coming!

Hello confidence, I’m Sophie! Finally we’ve met and you aren’t going away easily!


YPE

Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

2 comments

  1. 1divyapatel · · Reply

    Love this!! ✨
    I recently wrote about confidence as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’ll take a look 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

