First impressions: July magazine freebies.

Is it just me or have the July edition’s of magazines been amazing with their freebies this month? I decided to pick six up as I was perusing through the aisles while shopping. Yes, six.

IMG_0411

FullSizeRender-2

© Sophie Dishman.

I bought Glamour, Cosmopolitan, Marie Claire, Elle, In Style and Red. Four of these came with freebies – the best freebies I’ve seen in a while. It’s not often I pick up a magazine with a freebie in either, because as a journalism student I’m much more inclined to pick up a magazine that grabs my attention or one I’ve read for a while. The freebie doesn’t matter.

But when I found out that I’d be able to get the following freebies – they were another reason why I wanted to buy these magazines.

IMG_0548

© Copyright of Sophie Dishman.

The first product I got was the Eyeko Black Magic Mascara from the In Style magazine. In this issue there is a choice of four products.  Since it was all about “eyes” I decided to go for the mascara – and what a good choice it was, I think. A lot of people have said how good it is. It’s worth £18 too so it’s a bargain really! There’s also the choice of Eyeko’s Black Magic Brow Gel, their Define Skinny Brush Fat Liquid or their Skinny Liquid.

I was a little surprised at the mascara actually once I took it out of it’s box. The shape of the brush and the wand is different. I haven’t seen anything like that before. I also haven’t seen mascara in this type of packaging. It’s a squeezy bottle too. Everything about this product is new to me but I can’t wait to give it a try! It’s something new.

I then got two of the Radial smokey eye pens – one in Black and one in Brown. They both come with the magazine.

IMG_0536

© Copyright of Sophie Dishman.

I must admit I’ve never heard of the brand Rodial. I did a bit of research and found out that both pens are worth £34 together! They are quite big pens too so I think they’ll last a long time – although that’s just a first impression.

IMG_0540

© Copyright of Sophie Dishman.

I’m glad that these eye pens look versatile too – I’m going to experiment in using them in different ways. I may try using them as an eyeshadow base and as an eyeliner. We shall see! I’m very excited by them though!

The third product came from Elle and is Benefit’s new Goof Proof Brow Pencil. Now I will be honest and say that I’m a wax, powder and gel girl when it comes to my eyebrows – but I’ll try using a pencil. I really didn’t want to open it until I start using it. I couldn’t bring myself too as it’s one of the new products in the brow range.

IMG_0532

I’m not apprehensive about trying it as I use Benefit’s Gimme Brow. I’m hoping I love this just as much and that it’ll come an alternative when I don’t want a bold brow look.

The packaging looks amazing too – don’t you think?

IMG_0534

© Copyright of Sophie Dishman. 

The last product I got came with the Marie Claire magazine. It is the Elemis hydra-boost day cream. Again I’ve never heard of the brand Elemis but after doing some research I was surprised. The product sounds great for my dry skin and is made for dry skin too.

IMG_0530

© Copyright of Sophie Dishman.

I could never afford this product itself as it’s £39 so I’m glad I got a sample tube!

You can also get the Elemis hydra-nourish night cream too – I was tempted to purchase the Marie Claire magazine twice just so I could get both!

I’m definitely looking forward to trying it!


I love the boxes that some of the products came in too!

IMG_0549

© Copyright of Sophie Dishman.

The mascara came in the blue box (left), the Rodial pencils came in the black box (middle) and the Goof Proof Brow Pencil came in the pink and silver box (right).

And voila! I’ll be reviewing all of these products in the next few weeks.

IMG_0546

© Copyright of Sophie Dishman. 


What do you think of these products? Have you tried them for yourself? Do you want to try any of them? 

Let me know below in the comments section or on my social media accounts.

YPE

Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

2 comments

  1. I got Elle this month for the brow pencil! I get Elle on and off depending on what other mags I buy in the month but I need to try
    new Benefit releases immediately! I’ve only used it once so far but it’s easy to use and stays really nicely. Xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I normally like to see what they’ve got in their issue before I buy. As I said I don’t normally care about freebies but these magazines were too hard not to buy because of what they offered!

      Like

Leave a Reply

