Make May Purple Makeup Look.

Disclaimer: All prices are corrected at the time of publishing.

To coincide with Make May Purple – the Stroke Association’s month of raising awareness of strokes I’ve decided to create a purple makeup look! I’ll be giving you a step by step routine showing you all of the products I used to create this look:

FullSizeRender

© Sophie Dishman.

Face

Whenever I put my makeup on I always start with my base – which is my face products. I prepped my skin with my skincare routine before this so my face is ready for my makeup.

DSC_0201.EDITjpg

© Sophie Dishman.

 I primed my face before putting on the base of my makeup. I started with the Revlon Photo Ready primer (£12.99). It smooths out my skin and gives it a little bit of moisture so my makeup will stay in place – and it does!

I then moved onto using two concealers. I use the Radiance Reveal concealer in light by Bourjois (£7.99) and Benefit’s Boi-ing concealer (£17.50) in light too. That covers up some of my freckles to give me a smoother and more flawless look.

After I’d primed and concealed I moved onto my foundation. I wanted a dewy rather than a matte look so went for Revlon’s Colour Stay foundation for normal to dry skin in Ivory (£12.99). It’s a long lasting foundation so it’s perfect for this look. It doesn’t make me look shiny either which is a bonus!

Contouring is something I’ve been trying out recently and I’ve been using a powder kit to do so. I used Rimmel London’s Sculpting Palette by Kate in Shade 002 (£6.99). I used the highlighter on my t-zone and underneath my eyes. I then used the bronzer on the sides of my nose, on the area between my cheek and jaw bone (on both sides), on my forehead, chin and on my cupids bow (below and above my lips).

To top it off I used the blusher to add a little bit of colour back into my cheeks.

I used my Makeup Revolution pressed powder in Porcelain (£2.00) and the Makeup Revolution Pro Fix Oil Control Fixing Spray (£5.00) to set the products.

Eyes

DSC_0209.EDITjpg

I then moved onto my eyes. This is where I wanted the purple to begin! I primed my eyes using Makeup Revolution’s Eye Primer Liquid Aqua Seal (£3.00). It is sticky but it holds my eye makeup in place all day which is what it’s supposed to do!

I then used my Urban Decay Naked Smoky palette (£38.50) to achieve the look on my eyes.

DSC_0206.EDITjpg

To start off I used Password all over my eyes and then used the purple shade Smolder on the lids of my eyes. I used the brush that comes with the palette to blend out the product to achieve a smoky look. I wanted this look to be something that could be worn throughout the day and into the night.

I then used Rimmel’s Special Eyes kohl liner in Black Magic, shade 161 (£2.99) and used my eyelash curler to curl my eyes. I can’t remember where I got the eyelash curlers from unfortunately but any will do!

My mascara of choice for this look had to be Max Factor’s Luxe Collection Masterpiece Max Mascara in Black (£7.99). I didn’t want too much volume so I only applied a few coats.

DSC_0208EDIT

© Sophie Dishman. 

I used the eyebrow palette I always use in my daily routine to achieve the look on my eyebrows. I used Sleek Makeup’s Brow Kit in Dark (£8.49). I then use Benefit’s Gimme Brow in Medium/Deep (£18.50). I wanted a heavy and dark brow since I wanted a bold look!

To finish my eyes off I used Rimmel’s Brow This Way Styling Gel in Clear (£3.99).

DSC_0211EDIT

© Sophie Dishman. 

I used the tools to achieve the look of my brows and eyelashes.

Lips

DSC_0213EDIT

© Sophie Dishman. 

The final part of this look comes from these products.

The lips were the most important part of the look for me as it’s where a stroke can affect.

Aside from the look, it’s really important to do the FAST test if you think someone is having a stroke – look for:

  • FACIAL WEAKNESS: Can the person smile? Has their face fallen on one side?
  • ARM WEAKNESS: Can the person raise both arms and keep them there?
  • SPEECH PROBLEMS: Can the person speak clearly and understand what you say? Is their speech slurred?
  • TIME TO CALL 999: If a person fails any one of these tests, get help immediately by dialling 999.

Going back to the look…

On my lips I used MUA’s Pout Prime (£3.00). It’s a smoothing lip primer which preps my lips for a lot of products and then used Rimmel’s Moisture Renew Lip Liner in Clear to add more moisture to my lips.

To line my lips I used Mac’s lip liner in the shade Nightmoth (£12.50) and then Rimmel’s Moisture Renew Lipstick in Dark Night Water-oops – shade 380 (£6.49). It isn’t purple but that doesn’t matter as the lipstick still brings attention to my lips. There’s still some purple in my look with my eyes!

DSC_0212.EDITjpg

© Sophie Dishman.

To finish it all off I used Rimmel’s Lipstick Lock in Clear (£4.99). (Yes, I know it looks red but that’s because I use it all of the time to lock my lipstick/lipglosses/lip creams in place). 

And voila. That’s the step by step way to achieve the look above!

I hope you enjoyed this post! Let me know what you think below in the comments section below or on my social media accounts.


YPE

Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

Leave a Reply

