Five things that happened to me this week.

A few things have for me politically in the last week or so since I wrote my last Topical Tuesday blog post. So here’s a few things that have happened and will be happening in the next few days in the current affairs of my life.

  1. I covered the Tyne and Wear May Day march and rally in Newcastle. This is the first march I’ve ever covered and it was amazing. There’s so much adrenaline. I had to run up Northumberland Street pretty fast as there were hundreds of demonstrators. I went to the rally afterwards and interviewed some people where I got to listen to speakers and some local music too. It was a great experience and something I’d definitely do again!
  2. I presented the new news show called Wear Here on Spark Sunderland today (Tuesday May 3). I haven’t presented a full show since September so I was going back into new territory. I’m used to being on the radio now as I’m a breakfast newsreader on Spark FM three days a week. But today it was my chance to be behind the presenters mic again. I had a co-presenter as well as a technical operator and two guests so it was a pretty packed studio.
Screen Shot 2016-05-03 at 19.43.12.png

© Jay Sykes – Permission to use.

3. I found out that I’ll be covering the general election on Thursday. I’ll be covering one of the local North East areas with another colleague. I’ll be covering radio meaning I’ll be doing live reads and interviews among other things! I’m very excited for this as I’m still interested in being a political reporter! You’ll be able to see what I’m up on Twitter on and during the night!

4. I’ll also be voting in the local elections for the first time. As well as covering them as a journalism student, I’ll also be voting in the local elections for the first time!

5. As well as this I’ll be helping with the police and crime commissioner elections too! I’ll be helping Spark FM and SR News cover this in some way! I’ll have to wait and see!

6. I had my first interview for a radio internship on Friday (April 29). I haven’t had a proper interview before so it was my first time. As well as this I was going for my first internship role. If you follow me on Twitter then you may know about it. I don’t want to say anything more until I know if I’ve got it or not!


What’s happened to you politically in the past week? Let me know in the comments section below or on my social media accounts.

YPE

Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

Leave a Reply

