Being a journalism student: 5 unusual things it has taught me about myself.

I’ve said time and time again that being a journalism student is not easy. I’ve been studying journalism for over half a year now and it has taught me a lot of things about myself – some normal things that I expect and some that I didn’t expect at all. So in ode to that I decided to do a post on 5 unusual things that being a journalism student has taught me about myself.

  1. That even if I’m scared I can do it when I have belief in myself. I didn’t go into the course petrified but I went into the course a little nervous about some things. But I’ve learnt that if I believe that I can do it then I will be able to do it. If I put my name forward for something and get it then I’ve had belief in myself. It may seem like a normal thing to you, but since I have social anxiety it’s an unusual thing. I’ve been taught how to have belief in myself really.
  2. That I secretly enjoy reading through lots of statistics. Maths wasn’t my strong point at school but I did enjoy it. I didn’t do a lot of statistical work but when I did in any subject I didn’t mind doing it. As a journalism student I read through a lot of statistics i.e. unemployment figures, survey results etc and I really do enjoy it. It has come as a shock to the system!
  3. That I do like my accent. Being from near Newcastle I do have a “twang” to my accent. When I first moved to university I didn’t mind it, then when I moved onto my journalism course I started to feel under confident especially when doing news on the radio. Having a regional accent does work but it’s taken a while to get used to liking my accent again. I do like my accent now and I will continue to!
  4. That I jump from what I want to do after university – but that it’s okay as university is a learning curve and eventually I’ll settle on something before I graduate. This is a long one, but since September I’ve chopped and changed what I wanted to do after graduation. In September it was fashion and magazine journalism, then it was politics, then it was local print news and then it was back to politics with a hint of business, now it’s reporting and politics. I’ve also thought about doing news etc. But it’s okay and it most certainly will change but I’m okay with it and it’s okay in general. I’m learning.
  5. That being uncomfortable in situations will help me in the long run. Having social anxiety isn’t exactly a great thing when going into journalism. Since September I’ve been in a number of situations where I’ve been uncomfortable but these have helped me in the long run. I’m not scared of being uncomfortable now as I’ll learn from it. I’ve come to accept and want this feeling more often so I can learn!

    What unusual things has your course taught you about yourself? Let me know in the comments section or on my social media accounts.

YPE

Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

Leave a Reply

