The pressures of social media.

Today I appeared in the Daily Mirror – in the newspaper…

wp-1460053030643.jpg

Source: Daily Mirror newspaper.

And online.

But I’m not hear to brag on social media.

I’m here to talk about the bad side of social media – the pressures of social media that can get young people down.

A survey by Privilege Home Insurance has revealed figures that definitely worry me – you can view some of them here.

 

 

All of this worries me deeply. 

Social media wasn’t really too much a thing when I was growing up until I was in my early teens. I did grow up with it though, when it was in it’s infancy. MSN popped up into my life and then Bebo. Soon after it was Facebook, Twitter and Instagram – and now my blog and Youtube. But for today’s generation – the nought’s kids, social media has been ingrained into their lives. It’s taken over.

And it’s all too much for me.

Having grown up with social media it’s something that becomes ingrained in you.

I must be online.

I must reply straight away.

I need to post constantly.

There are so many pressures of social media that young people have to deal with on a daily basis. We are constantly surrounded by social media and we find it difficult to leave – I’m definitely one to admit that.

Firstly, there’s the pressure to look – and feel good. It scares me as many of us may feel pressured to buy the best clothes and spend money and time wearing makeup and “fixing ourselves.” It used to take me 15 minutes to get ready in my early teens, now it takes me around an hour and 15 minutes to put my clothes on, do my makeup and hair and make sure everything looks good before I head out. Social media makes you think – a lot.

If you don’t feel like that then you don’t feel normal – or at least that’s my experience.

There’s a pressure to edit what you look like too.

I always edit my pictures and won’t post something until I’m 100% happy with it. I used to have numerous photo editing apps on my phone, now I just use the inbuilt ones on Instagram. Why? Because editing took over – and the fact was I was never happy. Now if I get the right filter then I’m 100% happy. I can show what I want to show – I can edit out a spot or two or whiten my teeth. But why should I?

This leads me onto my next point. Social media puts pressure on you to reflect too. Where am I in my life? Why aren’t I where they are? How can I get there? These are questions I asked myself when I was younger. I wanted to be the person. I’d find myself wishing that I was that person rather than myself – which really knocked my confidence. Social media didn’t make me feel happy – I wasn’t happy with myself because of it.

Now I tend to find that if I see something good on social media then I’m more likely to aspire to it. I don’t find myself wanting to be another person anymore, I find myself wanting to get to a certain point for myself. I’m happy now, but anyone that knows me know’s I always want to be better – which obviously causes pressures in itself. Maybe that’s an additional pressure of social media.

Among all of the pressures of social media, I feel personally that there’s a pressure to post constantly too. I feel like I need to be online a lot. As I’m a blogger, it’s necessary to be online a lot – to build my brand and interact. It’s also important as a journalism student too, but that’s beside the point. There’s still pressure there to sit up to the early hours of the morning – I wouldn’t but so many young people do sit on social media until the early hours of the morning.

If you aren’t on social media, it’s considered odd.

Being on social media is a norm now and you have to fit the rules, you have to conform otherwise you are the odd one out – and that’s not fair. 

Social media has pressures of it’s own and social media can cause pressures in other areas – body image for instance.

Social media – you’ve got to understand that there’s other pressures that young people have to deal with!


YPE

Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

Leave a Reply

