FAQ’s: The lifestyle of a blogger.

The lifestyle of a blogger eh? It’s something I get asked a lot about when people ask me what it’s like to be a blogger. With so many people aspiring to become a blogger as a career, I thought I’d answer some of the questions I get asked on a frequent basis about the lifestyle of blogging and being a blogger.

Q: Being a blogger is easy isn’t it?

A: This is the number one question I get asked. No, it isn’t easy. It’s a lot of hard work – I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – it takes a lot of time, effort and money! You have to work really hard a lot of the time to write posts, promote yourself and your blog and so on and so forth. We don’t sit around doing nothing on our laptops. That’s where all our hard work goes – onto our laptops on our blogs.

Q: Do you ever get tired of blogging on a daily basis? 

A: For me, no. I am motivated and inspired by what I do on my blog. I am passionate about everything I write about – from politics on a Tuesday to student issues and social media on a Sunday. I enjoy what I write and that motivates me to sit down at night and write out a blog post for you – my readers.

Q: How do you get to work with other brands like charities?

A: Sometimes I get approached by people from organisations after they’ve read my blog, but most often it’s the other way around. It’s always going to be a “no” if you don’t ask. I just ask and then wait for a response. It takes a lot of emailing and social media surfing but  it’s worth it. Sometimes opportunities just float my way too as I seek them out and see them. There’s a number of ways I do it and it’s different for every blogger. That’s just the way I do it.

Q: Do you concentrate on your blog all of the time? 

A: No. I do other things besides blogging and being a blogger. I have downtime from my blog everyday. It’s not something I obsess over in a negative way anymore. I care about my blog, but it isn’t always on my mind.

Q: So you want to be like those “big bloggers?

A: I want my blog to help me in my career, that’s my goal at the moment. Being a journalism student, I want this blog to help me where it can – whether that’s showcasing my writing, sharing my opinions on current affairs or anything else that will help me in my journalism career. Right now, I’m focused on that. I don’t want to put too much pressure on myself, as I’m not blogging because I want to be famous. I’m blogging for other reasons.

Q: Is your lifestyle of blogging super-organised?

A: In terms of what I’m writing about – yes. I have a long list of content ideas that I want to get through over the course of a few weeks. In terms of scheduling – no as I prefer to write on the night of the blog post going out. As for taking and editing pictures and social media, I’d say I’m okay. There’s always room for improvement.

Q: Where does your content inspiration come from?

A: I get inspiration from everywhere – the news, when I’m out and about, magazines, books, TV programmes, movies, speaking to people…I get my content ideas from a lot of places. As a journalism student, this is something that I’ve come to learn. “Just see” is something that’s ingrained in me now. I look for inspiration everywhere and sometimes it just finds me. (Yes, I’m aware I’m personifying inspiration).

Q: Don’t you have other things to do? 

A: Yes as I said above I also do a lot of other things. I’m a student, I also do a lot of voluntary work and so much more. I don’t just blog and I wouldn’t want to do just that, at least not right now with my current blogging goals.

Q: Does it take a long time to get a post together?

A: It depends on the post. If it’s an image heavy post then yes or if I have to put background information in or do research then yes. Most often than not a listical won’t take long, but a post like this one takes an hour or so to write. I have to draft, then re-draft, then finalise. There’s a lot of work that goes into a blog post. It’s not quick and simple.


What questions do you frequently get asked as a blogger?

Let me know in the comments section below or on my social media accounts.

YPE

Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

 

 

Leave a Reply

