Ten things a journalism student should always have with them.

As you may be able to tell I’m a big fan of listical posts at the moment – there’s nothing wrong with that! For student Sunday I thought I’d share with you 10 things a journalism student should always have with them

  1. A spiral notebook. Having a spiral notepad is much easier than having a bound notebook for so many reasons. Aside from the design of the notebook, having a notebook in general is a great idea – it’s good for taking notes in lecturers, for doing interviews and jotting down contact information. Technology may and will fail on you from time to time so it’s always a great idea to have a back-up.
  2. An external hard drive. I’ve fallen foul of not backing my work up several times as a journalism student and now I’ve fully learnt my lesson. I have one similar to this and it’s worked wonders. One TB is definitely enough for me as I don’t do too much video or audio editing.
  3. Multiple pens. I assure you that they will disappear so it’s great to have more than one in your bag.
  4. A phone + a charger. This is a two in one as really they come together. Having a phone lets you check out the latest news, browse social media and get content. A charger makes sure you can keep using your phone. No-one wants a dead battery when breaking news comes in!
  5. A dictaphone or a voice recording application on your phone – I have a dictaphone and a voice recording app on my phone. Both are really handy as your shorthand may not be up to scratch or you may not have time. Either one will come in handy!
  6. Headphones. It’s great when you can listen back to interviews and video recordings. You don’t want to leave your interview with low quality sound. I almost always use headphones when I’m recording video or audio so it’s a good practice to get into.
  7. Something to keep you warm, cool or dry depending on the weather. No-one likes to be too cold, too hot or drenched because of rain, sleet or snow. Make sure to pack for the weather when you are outside. I check the weather in the morning and plan from there!
  8. A contacts book or another notebook where you can write contact details in. A contacts book will be your best friend – I assure you. I’ve had many great expressions when I ask a person in industry for their contact details and I take out my contacts book. It looks professional and it’s also a quick reference guide when you need a quick quote on a specific subject or when you need advice or even a placement.
  9. A diary. always need my diary on a day to day basis. It’s how I organise my to do’s for the day and it’s an important piece of kit. While I do use Google Calendar, nothing beats my paper diary for organisation. You’re more than likely to remember where you need to go and when with one of these.
  10. Food. Being a journalism student most often than not means you are on the go. You need food to be able to do this. I always carry a breakfast bar and a chocolate bar for some energy when I’m running around reporting. Trust me, you’ll need it!

    Journalism students – what’s in your bag? What are your essentials? Students in general – what’s in your university bag?

Let me know below in the comments section or on my social media accounts.

YPE

Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

Leave a Reply

