Music & studying: how to pick the best music for you.

University can be a stressful time. It gets busy during the holidays as we have assignments to do and exams to revise for. One way I destress is by listening to music. It isn’t for everyone, as some people like to study in silence. Music keeps me calm and relaxed. Sometimes I listen to upbeat music and other times I listen to instrumental music. It all depends on a lot of factors. Here’s my three top tips on how to pick the best music for you.

  1. Pick music that you would not normally listen to. Listening to something familiar is great but it may distract you, so pick something else that you probably wouldn’t listen to. I like classical music, but I don’t normally listen to it so sometimes that’s the best choice for me. Pick what feels comfortable and what will keep you relaxed, calm and most importantly focused on the task at hand. You could always listen to sounds i.e. rain falling etc. There’s an app called Calm (it’s a meditation app) but it has different sounds on it.
  2. Don’t spend hours searching for music. Putting a playlist together can take a while. There are various websites you can go onto which have dedicated playlists already made up. Classic FM and the Spotify web player are two examples. A quick search of Study Music will help! If you insist on making a playlist make sure you do it way before and keep the same playlist while studying.
  3. Don’t make a playlist that’s too long (if you are making one) and keep an eye on the time. You don’t want a playlist that is a few hours long as you need to take breaks from studying. At the same time, you don’t want to make it too short. A playlist between 40 and 50 minutes is enough for me. When I’ve had a 10 to 15 minute break, I restart the playlist. I do this until my task is done.

    And there you have it!

What are your top tips for picking the best music to listen to while studying?

What’s on your playlist?

Let me know below in the comments section or on my social media accounts!

YPE

Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

4 comments

  1. I have found that using spotifys study playlist,which is all instrumental music really helps me to focus. So when I really need to get down to work that is my go to thing. Anything with lyrics in just distracts me far too much.

    Like

    1. I love Spotify’s study playlist. It’s really relaxing but sometimes I prefer lyrics – especially when I’m doing my weekly reading.

      Like

      1. I can’t focus with lyrics. It has to be either silence or instrumental.

        Like

      2. Everyone has different tastes!

        Like

Leave a Reply

