Too much makeup, too soon?

Remember when you were younger – when you’d wear your fruity lip balm and get your nails painted every so often? I remember those times well. I didn’t care about makeup then, I wasn’t bothered at 8, 10 or 12 and even further into my teenage years. Things changed then, but I ignored it. But now, it seems makeup is everywhere we look and it might influence the younger generation. Is it too much makeup, too soon?

Now lets go back to the past when we were younger – back to the cute quad palettes and the lip palettes with those cute little brushes. Those days, eh! I remember being obsessed with coconut lip balm. I don’t know why and I can’t remember where it was from, but I didn’t think of it as makeup. It didn’t make me look better, it just made me feel happy. It made me feel confident and invincible. It was my shield.

It’s the same now, although the invincibility has been replaced – with maturity.

I started getting into makeup at around 14, but I didn’t really wear it that much. If anything I wore a little to fit in with other people at school. Everyone else was wearing it and it put pressure on me to wear makeup too. “It must do something,” I thought.

Then I fell out of love with it again after I left school. I didn’t really care if I wore makeup or not. It meant I didn’t have to get up earlier!

Long story short – obviously I’m back to wearing makeup.

But now I see my young, female family members being intrigued by the glitz and glamour of makeup. They want their nails done, their hair styled “properly” and they want to wear lipstick. Some of them are only four years old.

They see me and other female family members wearing it – we are supposed to be role models.

But maybe they see that makeup gives us something.

It can change us, it gives us a shield in some cases.

It’s what many of us have been told by society.

I try not to wear it around younger family members but it doesn’t feel the same. I hate going out without makeup.

I don’t want the same for the next generation, but I think they’ll become image obsessed and makeup will play it’s part in covering up supposed imperfections and give young girls confidence.

Confidence isn’t a bad thing, but we shouldn’t need makeup.

It’s too much, too soon for me.

Confidence is an aesthetic in itself, it doesn’t need to take the form of a cosmetic.


 

What do you think? Let me know in the comments section below or on my social media channels. 

YPE

 Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

2 comments

  1. I completely agree with you! ✨

    http://pixiebeautybible.com 💕

    Like

    1. 🙂 I’m glad you agree!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

