EU Referendum: In or Out?

This may be a question that we’ll be asking ourselves soon, rather than later. You may be thinking about the answer now and some of you may have already made your mind up. I’m still on the fence – as always in a professional capacity, simply because it’s important to be impartial. But personally, where do I stand. Am I in or out?

Now, some of you may be thinking – what does she mean? Is the talking about a large EU hokey cokey? Well, no – but that would be fun wouldn’t it? (Actually on second thoughts, perhaps not!)

So, what does this question mean?

To keep it short and sweet, the Conservative Government want to hold a nationwide vote on whether or not we should stay in the EU. They put this in their manifesto for the General Election in 2015, so as they gained a majority, it’s full steam ahead with what’s otherwise known as the referendum.

It’s a yes or no answer. In or out?

With that all cleared up, where do I sit?

Personally, I’m leaning more towards staying in the EU, but I can see some of the points made against staying in the EU.

I’d like to stay in the EU as a student because I can benefit from education schemes that allow me to go to EU countries for a year abroad. I wouldn’t want to lose that.

It will also be good for business because of trading.

I imagine we’d have to set a new deal to trade within the EU if we left. That may take a while. What would it mean for business in the long run?

Staying in will help with employment in my opinion and we can maintain EU funding.

Immigration is another tough subject on the table and again, but I’m largely with the “in” camp.

We’d have more control over our own laws too, some may see that as a bad thing and I can see why. Can you?

There are so many arguments for in and for out, but essentially I’m “in”. Are you?


 

Do you want to stay in the EU or leave? Let me know below in the comments or on my social media accounts.

YPE

 Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

 

 

 

 

3 comments

  1. I used to support the principle of a ‘European Union’ to the point that if we had had a referendum in 1992 (as we should have done), I may well have voted in favour of it. I suspect that there are a lot of middle-aged people like myself who feel the same way, that the ‘Federal Europe’ we were sold – in which every country would still have a large degree of autonomy – was a lie. So ironically, by deferring a referendum for so long, the political establishment have lost the support of many forty-somethings who might have voted for the EU back then. In summary, I shall be voting for Britain to leave the EU and regain its independence. The alternative is continued autocratic rule from the EU and the loss of what little democracy we have left.

    Like

  2. I’m in, mainly because I trust the EU to protect our rights and freedoms more than I trust David Cameron. Making our own laws sounds good but not if it’s our government making them!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, but the whole point about democracy is that we’ll be empowered to get rid of Cameron and his cronies. Given that the Tories are just as split on the EU as they were in 1992, a genuine parliamentary opposition would seize the opportunity to defeat both the EU and the Tories in one fell swoop.

      Like

Leave a Reply

