My Mental Health Experience: Me and my Dissociative Seizures.

This week, I’m bringing back Sophie Hopkins, who appeared on this series a few weeks back. She’s back to talk about her mental health experience with dissociative seizures. I’ll let her tell you about them!


 

I was 15 and had been bullied since before year seven and everything was starting to get to me”, she said.

I was asking all these questions about myself. Why is this always happening to me? Will this be my whole life? Will I always be bullied? With the pressure to do well at school and decide what I wanted my future to be, it was all getting on top of me.

I approached school for support and I didn’t get help.

Then, everything got too much. I was passing out every day – multiple times a day. No one knew what it was.

I just wanted to sleep. It took me to a low point and got rushed to hospital and was there for two nights. I’m so glad they found what they did. I wanted someone to realise.

I still didn’t get much help as it was 6 weeks before my 16th birthday and in my area, 16 is where you go to adult services.

It has taken a while for something to be done.

Six years later, I am proud to say I am in recovery and just this week I have been diagnosed for my fainting – a condition called Dissociative Seizures also known as non-epileptic fits. My brain goes into a trance and disconnects from the real world and can be linked with derealisation and depersonalisation. It is a physical condition BUT it effects the brain. The treatment is physiological and requires of many different treatments for example – CBT, physiotherapy and a treatment plan with CPN or psychologist. Because, I have had this condition for 6 years, I won’t get better quickly but slowly I will.

Things have gotten better, but I do still suffer from depression, anxiety, panic attacks and stress feelings a lot. I also still suffer from my dissociative seizures and as they are new I hope to be diagnosed more within my mental health soon.

My official mental health diagnoses are depression, anxeity, panic disorder, and Borderline Personality Disorder. At the moment Dissociative Seizures are classed as physical with the treatment being psychological.


 

YPE

 Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

Leave a Reply

