A Day in the Life of a Broadcast Journalism graduate.

This week we are going back to journalism. I’m finally back home after feeling rather windswept with PR and other sectors for the past few weeks. Alas, we are looking into the life of a broadcast journalism graduate.
I talked to Rebecca Broad, who’s 21 and is a Broadcast Journalism graduate. Rebecca is also an aspiring novelist, tv producer and screenwriter.
image1-1

Permission from Rebecca to use.

Here’s what Rebecca had to say!

How did you get into your job? 

I started off at the end of college with a real passion for news, so I looked into university courses in journalism and that’s when I found that broadcast journalism was an option.
I think more than anything it was the film Bridget Jones’ Diary was mostly responsible for me wanting to make a start in the journalism world; I quite liked the idea of being there, live on the scene.
But now that I’ve finished my degree, I’ve fallen out of love with journalism (sorry) and discovered that I quite like literature.
I’ve worked out that it wasn’t Bridget Jones’ job that I admired, it was Helen Fielding’s storytelling.
What do you like about your job? 
Now that I’m working on my own fiction, I get to work on what I want and write about what I want. More than anything I like having the freedom to write when I want to instead of having university deadlines to contend with.
What are some of the challenges of your job?
I think my biggest challenge is being happy with what I’ve done. I’m terrible for writing something then coming back to it and not being happy with it and getting rid of it all together.
What do you think are some of the challenges in the creative sector?
I think the biggest challenge in creative jobs is trust between companies and creatives.
When I fell out of love with journalism, I went on a number of work experience placements and sent my work (in journalism, literature and tv production) to various companies and I already found walls in front of me in sending snippets of work.
More so in the big companies (but more and more in smaller companies and independents) it’s difficult to get anyone to notice you as most companies won’t accept unsolicited scripts, uncommissioned programmes or manuscripts from writers who don’t have agents.
How did you degree help you?
I think my degree in broadcast journalism helped me work out that I didn’t want to do it.
But, in hindsight if I had had different lecturers or something about the course was different I would have kept my passion for it.
It did help me with technical skills in scriptwriting and TV.
Why did you pick to work the sector that you work in? 
I think I didn’t choose to write; there wasn’t a moment when I said “I want to write”.
More than anything it’s been a progressive love of literature and of spoken words that has just grown since I was little to a point where I can say “this is what I’m going to do.”
Describe a typical day in your job. 
Being totally self employed my day is ran by me.
Most days I can write to my hearts content.
I usually start by reading the last thing I wrote, sometimes that’s the last couple of paragraphs or the last scene, and more often than not, editing or re-wording or deleting altogether.
Sometimes I start on a new idea or a new chapter or a new scene and to do that I check my sacred notebook (I think that notebook means more to me than some of my family) that has scribblings and notes in to start from (sometimes I’ve made doodles of how I want certain things or characters to look).
Any advice for people wanting to get into your sector and/or the creative industry?
I don’t really think I’m at liberty to give much advice myself!

YPE

 Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

One comment

  1. Very cool. I’m self-employed as well and I love it. I’m happy to read you forged your own path. I’m going to follow to see where your journey takes you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

