4 Tips for getting into politics.

Now, I should probably take some advice from this post myself, as I’d like to get into politics as a journalist. And possibly politics as a standalone, it’s quite common for journalists to move into politics, you know! If I wanted to get into politics (in this case I do) then I’ve asked myself – what would help me. I did a similar post for getting involved in politics but I want this post to focus on things a bit deeper.

You have your political knowledge and you have political beliefs and opinions. What’s the next step? (Not in order, of course!)

  1. Volunteer for political causes or a political party. You may have already affiliated yourself with a party (that’s my step and goal for this year!) and that’s great. Why not show your support openly and help them with their campaigns and so forth. You could even volunteer for your local council and help with community issues. If you are a young person, under the age of 18, then firstly, I have to congratulate you for being politically engaged! Secondly, there are things you could get involved in – youth boards (I wish I’d known about these when I was younger), youth parliament, young mayor etc. There are schemes out there for young people with an interest in politics and they can be a stepping stone for getting into politics as an adult.
  2. Study politics, economics, social policy or sociology to gain an understanding of social issues and the political landscape. – If you have already been to university or don’t want to go to university then that’s fine. You can read about politics and the other subjects I’ve mentioned in your own time. There are various websites out there and if you wanted you could teach yourself. There’s some excitement in self learning! If you do want to go to university or are currently looking at postgraduate options, then you should look at the possibility of studying these kinds of subjects at university.
  3. Network with local people, businesses and your local councillors and MP, of course. Talk to people. It’s as simple as that. Get to know your local area well. That way, people will get to know who you are and what you stand for. People will start to remember you and that’s where the fun begins.
  4. Moving on up – becoming a local councillor. The next logical step, after you reach the age of 18, is to become a local councillor. Your local council holds elections to find councillors, visit your local council’s website for more information.

There are logical steps above this, but we don’t want to get ahead of ourselves, do we?

Good luck!


What do you think? Are you doing any of the steps now? What do you want to do in politics? 

Let me know below in the comments or on my social media accounts.

YPE

Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

 

Leave a Reply

