Volunteering Ventures #4 – Victor Rusu.

Volunteering Ventures is a little different this week. Instead of asking my usual questions, I asked someone at my university to tell me about their volunteering freely. I wanted to try something different and this was the outcome, from Victor Rusu, who works at the University of Sunderland.

Note: This may be short, but I assure you it is sweet!

Here’s what Victor had to say!

I have been volunteering for various organisations ever since I have started my journey at University of Sunderland in 2011.

For me, volunteering was a great way to get to know the local community better, understand the culture, make new friends and develop my skills.

It is a very personal and rewarding experience as it helped increase my self-esteem and gave me a sense of purpose.

Coming from a foreign country it was a great way to strengthen new networks and build long lasting friendships.

The volunteering experience helped my build transferable skills such as teamwork and communication and allowed me to network with various professionals which also lead to job offers.

It definitely gave me a competitive edge and provided me with valuable work experience.

Many of us struggle to decide which career path to choose, however the volunteering experience can give a clearer purpose and helps you to decide on your future career.

It is a great way to put the theory learned in practice.

Volunteering does not have to be time consuming either.

Even one hour a week can take you long way.

It is a great way to enhance your CV and demonstrate to potential employers that you are reliable, you can work in a team and show initiative, among so much more!

Volunteer and trust me it will definitely make difference and enhance your personal and professional development.

YPE

Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

Leave a Reply

