How to: switch off.

a journalism students-30.jpg

I don’t mean switching off the TV, your tablet or your phone (though that might help), I mean switching off and relaxing.

Switching off from time to time gives you time for YOU.

I don’t switch off. And I should. So this post is for you and me.

I’ve been doing some reading lately and I’ve realised that I need to switch off. It isn’t doing my health and wellbeing any good by constantly being on the go.

I’ve been told I’m “over keen” and that I need to “slow down and stop” sometimes.

I want to change that.

Here’s my top five tips for “switching off”.

  1. An hour before going to bed – DON’T use any technology. Read a book. Meditate. Do something that doesn’t involve technology. It helps you to switch off from other people’s lives. You can wait and as a result you should sleep better.
  2. Say no to opportunities that don’t meet your desired goal. This is something that I need to learn to do. Not every opportunity that comes my way will help me towards my goal. I need to realise that next year. Ask yourself – will it really help me? Or do I just want to do it because it might not come around again? If the answer is “yes” to the latter then don’t do it. That’s my opinion anyway. You won’t overload yourself with opportunities that aren’t doing you any good.
  3. Pamper yourself – run a bath, meditate, read a book.              Having half an hour to yourself can help you switch off from   the day. Be kind to yourself and relax. Take deep breathes and don’t think about work. Don’t look at your phone or any other device.
  4. Listen to music.                                                                                     I always find listening to classical music helps me relax. No words, just instruments. Listen to music that helps you relax. Maybe it’s pop music, jazz or heavy metal. Whatever helps you.
  5. Don’t rush.                                                                                               We like to rush around these days. We like to get everything done as quickly as possible so we can move onto the next thing. To switch off from your day, don’t rush. Take your time. Take time to have a shower, to get into your pyjamas and get into bed.

What are your top tips for switching off? 

YPE

Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

 

Leave a Reply

