A Day in the Life of a PR Campaign Manager.

It’s nearing the end of 2015 and because of that I thought I’d treat you to another Day in the Life post. It’s a PR Day in the Life again but don’t be alarmed.

The person I spoke to this week did a journalism degree and now works in PR.

I spoke to Scott Malthouse, a 27-year-old PR Campaign Manager.

Here’s what Scott told me about a day in his working life!

How did you get into your job?

I’ve worked in the digital marketing industry for about five and a half years, coming in at the bottom level and working my way up. I’ve always had a passion for all things digital and I love working with brands, so PR is perfect for me, really.

What do you like about your job?

The best thing about my job is just being able to create. I absolutely love coming up with new, sometimes bonkers, ideas and seeing them through to realisation.
There’s a huge sense of pride when you cultivate a creative campaign from a germ of an idea and see it follow through to where the press are talking about it.
What are some of the challenges of your job?
I suppose the challenges are the same as what I most like about the job.
It’s my job to make sure that a PR campaign is going to work, that it’s going to get the press attention that it needs and that it’s going to do the brand justice. That’s a lot of weight on my shoulders, but fortunately I work with a great team that makes the job that bit easier.
What do you think are some of the challenges in the creative sector?
Honestly, I think the creative industry lacks representation, both by gender and race. The industry is booming at the moment, but from what I’ve seen representation is stagnating, or worse – declining.
I’m fortunate to work for a company that is very representative but I know as a whole, the sector needs to attract more diversity.
If you did a degree, how has it helped you?
I did a journalism degree and it’s been absolutely key in getting me where I am. PR is essentially the flip side of journalism. We create news stories  – just with brands in mind. It’s really helped me understand what journalists want from a story.
Why did you pick to work the sector that you work in?
I knew that traditional PR wasn’t really for me and with the media becoming more digital I knew the future was in the so-called “new media”.
PR is endlessly fascinating and I knew that I’d never have a dull day – and I was right! Every day is different.
Describe a typical day in your job.
My typical day has to start with a Starbucks. Try to talk to me when I haven’t had my caffeine intake and all you’ll get is garbled nonsense.
Usually I’ll check the news the first thing, see what’s going on in the world, and get through some of those dreaded emails.
I’ll often have a couple of meetings with colleagues to come up with ideas for clients . I’ll also be getting in touch with journalists, pitching stories  and making new contacts – often using Twitter.
‘Typical’ is a tough thing in my job, because one day I might be researching and doing more maths than a creative type should be doing, and other I’ll be pitching a social media idea for a client.
Any advice for people wanting to get into your sector and/or the creative industry?

Honestly, I think the best thing I did to become a PR was doing a journalism degree. It seems strange to say, but it’s just the other side of the same coin and the skills you learn being a journalist are the same you need to be a good PR.

Also, do work experience as much as possible and network.

Leave a Reply

