Top 10 Stationery Items for Journalism Students

Stationery is my best friend when it comes to university. I did a stationery haul at the start of semester one. In this post, I’m going to give you the top ten stationery items for journalism students in my opinion.

  1. A diary.

I wouldn’t know what to do without my diary. I forgot it once this semester and I panicked. I put EVERYTHING in my diary that has to do with my student life. Deadlines, news stories that I’ve got to write and achievements! It keeps me organised.

2. Sticky notes.

Sticky notes have been my saviour these past few weeks. After a seminar on organisation, I’ve become very organised. I have sticky note keys in my diary now and they’ve helped immensely. Strangely, they’ve helped keep my stress levels down too. It may be because I can move them around in my diary? Who knows?

3. A dictaphone.

My dictaphone has been a brilliant tool to have when I’m interviewing people in public. It means I can quote accurately and it means I can get vox pops to use on the radio and when I’m reading the news.

4. Revision cards.

I’ve used my revision cards for key terminology and I’ve used them when I delivered my first solo presentation at university, this semester. They are a key investment for any course, not just for a journalism degree.

5. Notebooks.

Notebooks are a journalist’s best friend. They are great for scribbling down ideas and notes. I have a few of them in my university bag!

6. Portable hard drive.

Mine broke unfortunately but they are a lifesaver (when they work!). I stored videos, images and work on here. You can get different sizes and colours (how great!). It’s helpful if you need to store large files on something that you can carry around with you.

7. Pencils.

Quick and handy when you need to write quickly. They’re also handy when it’s raining or snowing. I always take a pencil with me, just in case.

8. Pens.

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve lost pens over the past 12 weeks. It’s getting beyond a joke. You’ll need a lot of pens as a student. They mysteriously go off on a walk and never come back, in a metaphorical sense of course! I buy packs of these! You can’t get by without one or two…

9. Highlighters.

Highlighters are a blessing when you need to remember terminology. You can use different colours to remember different things. I’ve used mine a lot over the first semester, so they’re definitely an essential for me.

10. Gel ink pens.

For some reason I can now write better with a gel ink pen and I write more when I’m using a gel ink pen. I don’t know why but it’s a good tool to have for me. It’s also helped keep my diary organised.

What are your essential stationery items? Let me know below!

ype1-e1440424088913.jpg

Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

4 comments

  1. This post is stationery hoarder heaven, I love it! 🙂 x

    Like

  2. loved this! 🙂 especially because I am studying towards going into journalism too x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your comment! I wish you luck!

      Like

Leave a Reply

