A Day in the Life of a Head of Marketing.

There’s two Day in the Life posts this week, since I was unable to post last week – that’s double the creativity!

This week I’ve decided to explore the more business orientated side of the creative industries. Today, we are looking at marketing.

I spoke to Rachel Bradford who is 25 and is the Head of Marketing UK for Executives’ Global Network UK.

There are some surprising answers this week so keep reading.

Here’s what Rachel had to say!

How did you get into your job?

I got into marketing after studying journalism at university. At the end of the course I took an office job whilst I worked out what I wanted to do. I decided I wanted to focus on communications and marketing so studied part time in digital marketing.
I then moved on to be a communications advisor. Finally, I was offered the postion of marketing assistant with EGN, and have been recently promoted to Head of Marketing, which is amazing!
What do you like about your job?
Honestly, no day is the same and I get to be creative everyday. I work on new design work for marketing collateral, social media campaigns, event organisation and email marketing campaigns. It’s such a unique job.
What are some of the challenges of your job?
I guess the biggest challenge is marketing to a unique audience. My target audience are executives and high level professionals and getting their attention amongst everything else they are dealing with can be really hard. Coming up with new campaign ideas is hard work but really rewarding.
What do you think are some of the challenges in the creative sector?
There’s a lot of guidelines and regulations to adhere to and they are constantly being updated so you have to stay on top of it. Marketing trends are also moving so fast, it’s  easy to get left behind.
If you did a degree, how has it helped you?
I write for a living and doing a journalism degree definitely taught me a thing or two about writing for different audiences. I do sometimes wish I’d done a marketing or communications degree, but I’m happy with how I got to where I am.
Why did you pick to work the sector that you work in?
I kind of fell into it really. I started in communications as the marketing department for the company was based in a different county. I needed some freelance marketing work and then was discovered for the job I’m in now. But I think what drew me to the industry was how it’s ever changing and diverse. I get to write and design and talk to customers and attend events. It’s hectic, rewarding and busy, and I love it.
Describe a typical day in your job.
I don’t know if I have a typical day as there’s always something new to do.
But I guess I always start my day by checking over the social media and seeing the over night/ over the weekend interactions. I ensure the schedulers are up to date.
As I am in charge of most of the lead generation campaigns for the business, I double check all the campaigns and stats and forward the reports over to the sales team for follow up.
I usually spend my mornings on content writing, proof reading and campaign organisation.
My afternoons are reserved for my sales work as I am also a Network Manager for our Marketing Leaders Group. It’s a brand new challenge and something I’ve never done before which is exciting.
Any advice for people wanting to get into your sector and/or the creative industry?
Get some experience. Even if it’s just a personal blog it shows commitment and you can learn an awful lot from trial and error in your own social media promotion.
It really helped me secure my job. I wish I’d started my personal lifestyle blog years before I did.
Leave a Reply

