A Day in the Life of a Social Media Consultant.

Social media has become an integral part of the creative industry. It’s a way to engage with your audience, to advertise and market your products or your brand and to communicate your thoughts about news and events. It has so many uses.

This week I spoke to Jonathan Pollinger, a Social Media Consultant.

GetAttachment.aspx.jpeg

Here’s what Jonathan had to say about the creative industry!

How did you get into your job?

I was fascinated by the use of social networking within a business when working in an Employee Communications team and saw the potential for its use in marketing. So much so that I set up my own consultancy, Intranet Future.

What do you like about your job?

Lots! It’s rewarding to see businesses get active on social media and to grow as a result. I enjoy connecting people – businesses with consumers, business people with each other. Everyday is different. It’s great to be able to set your own direction for better or for worse.

What are some of the challenges of your job?

There can be very busy times but quiet times too. So it can be difficult to plan and manage time.

What do you think are some of the challenges in the creative sector?

Businesses owners can underestimate the importance of creatives and the benefits they can bring.

If you did a degree, how has it helped you?

I have a Modern English Studies degree which helps when it comes to creating ideas for posts and tweets.

Why did you pick to work the sector that you work in?

I love the use of technology and communication and social media brings the two together.

Describe a typical day in your job.

I’m up at 6.40am to catch up on social media news before preparing social media posts and tweets for the day. Then it’s out for an in-house social media workshop or training in the morning before a Skype call and proposal/quote prep in the afternoon. During the day I’m keeping up with emails and conversation on social networks. I also find time to do my #SocialToday show on Periscope, where I provide free social media advice. In the evening, I relax unless I’m giving a talk or attending a business networking or social event.

Any advice for people wanting to get into your sector and/or the creative industry?

Jump straight in to get experience and to build up your knowledge. Learn both online and face to face. I did some public speaking on social media whilst still employed.


If you are interested then you can follow Jonathan on Twitter – @intranetfuture.

YPE

Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

 

Leave a Reply

