A Day in the Life of a Freelance Photographer

Photography is a big part of blogging and is also a big part of the creative sector, as photographs are used in journalism, PR and Marketing. They are used widely for different purposes.

I had the wonderful opportunity to speak to Kristine Peterstone, who is a full time freelance photographer.

GetAttachment-2.aspx

I asked Kristine a few questions and here are her responses!

How did you get into your job?

I had a love and passion for photography since I was a kid. I had always kept it as my hobby during school, university and full time jobs. A while ago, I decided to make the jump and do what I love for a living.

What do you like about your job?

Everything! Everyday is different; I am my own boss and I get to do what I love everyday.

What are some of the challenges of your job?

Well, despite how cool it sounds ‘being your own boss’, it can sometimes prove to be hard. I often find myself working mad hours most days, without weekends (those are actually some of the busiest days!) and holidays cannot be taken in the busy seasons (guess what – no Christmas, New Years or summer). But again…if I did not love it so much, I would not be doing it.

What do you think are some of the challenges in the creative sector?

To be honest, some people are surprised you charge such amounts for creative work or charge at all! But those are not clients anyone wants, really. You are expected to work ‘for exposure’ and ‘build your portfolio’ even when you have gotten them both. Also it is sometimes hard to stop working; there is always work to do.

If you did a degree, has it helped you?

No, I do not think so. It is nice to have a degree, to know the technical side of things, but I do not think it is enough. To be honest, I think my business experience has helped me much more, oddly enough!

Why did you pick to work the sector that you work in? 

I have a deep love and passion for photography. There is really nothing more to it. I guess it is like being in love: you just ARE and can’t really describe why, even though sometimes it hurts.

Describe a typical day in your job. 

Usually getting up at 5 AM, breakfast and coffee, straight to the laptop! On and off social media, editing and client emails. Shoots some days. I love to take naps, so if I am not on location, I do take a power nap (my friends say I can’t call it like that, because power naps are supposed to be no longer than 20min). Then back to the drawing board, either repeat my laptop action pattern or do some planning or project dev work in my notebooks, squeezing in some meals. Then I’m usually doing one more social media round after dinner and then relaxation time or bed around 12 AM.

Any advice for people wanting to get into your sector and/or the creative industry?

Be prepared to work hard! Be prepared for many ‘no’s’ and keep your course straight, even though it isn’t always easy. And communicate and help other creatives – it is easier together, not against each other.

YPE

              Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

Leave a Reply

