A Day in the Life of a Journalism Student.

I’m a Journalism student (obviously!) but I didn’t want to write a day in my life until I was a few months into my course, so I’ve decided to speak to another journalism student!

I spoke to Kimberley Smith, who is 20 years old. Kimberley is studying for a BA (Hons) in Journalism at the University of Portsmouth.

Unknown copy

Here are the answers to the questions I asked!

How did you get into your degree?

I did English Literature, English Language and History for my A levels and I knew that I wanted to do something involving writing, but a classic English degree wasn’t for me. To be honest, I just looked at a list of creative degrees and Journalism jumped out at me, so I settled on that.

What do you like about your degree?

I like that there’s quite a lot of freedom over the work we get to do – they’ll give us a topic and a lot of time, we can personalise it how we want. For example, one topic was to recreate a magazine page using some software so I did Cosmopolitan which I really enjoyed. Where I study, we are accredited by the NCTJ (National Council for the Training of Journalists), so we get to do external exams such as Shorthand and Law, which I found quite fun.

What are some of the challenges of your degree?

Oddly, the creative side. I don’t tend to have many problems with writing articles and essays but when it comes down to designing layouts and things, I find it really hard. We had an editorial module in which we had to design a web page for an iPad which was really difficult and I’ve learnt that videography is just not for me.

What do you think are some of the challenges in the creative sector?

Being original. I think in the industry, it’s so easy to prove that you can write well, but it’s originality they seem to be looking for. You have to be able to offer something that others cannot.

How do you think your degree will help you?

I’ve learnt some new and valuable skills. Shorthand being one of them. I’ve also been taught how to use new software and have built up my confidence a lot which I am hoping will show when it comes to looking for a job.

Why did you pick the sector that you are doing your degree in?

I like being creative with words and I figured Journalism was a good way to do that. There are so many branches that you can go into pretty much any sort of Journalism that you want.

What do you want to do after your degree?

A job would be nice. To start with, I’m hoping to look for a paid internship in some sort of fashion magazine as that seems to be the best way to get a start in the industry.

Describe a typical day in your degree.

Last year, for the most part, my lectures ran from 9am to 11am, then 2pm till 3pm. I would generally get up and walk to my 9am lecture, take a lot of notes and then head to the library until 2pm. I’d get some lunch in the library cafe and either sort out my notes or work on an essay in the break between lectures. When my lecture would end at 3pm, I’d walk home, have a couple of hours off and make some dinner. After that, I’d work on my blog or finish some more work then chill out by watching something on Netflix or playing a game before getting into bed.

Any advice for people wanting to get into your sector and/or the creative industry?

Experience is crucial and the more you get early on, the more it will help you. Also, be confident in yourself and learn to take constructive criticism, because after all, it’s there to help you improve.


You can follow Kimberley on Twitter – @clrchronciles or follow her blog.

YPE

Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

Leave a Reply

