Autumn Reading: Political Books.

This summer, I decided to get some personal reading done. I was very busy during the summer so I haven’t read them yet, so I’m doing an autumn post. I’ve decided to do a short post on the books that I bought.

I used to read leisurely a lot before university, but educational reading of course takes over and the reading had to be put onto the back bench. My university reading became the front bench.

I’m an avid reader and I decided that it was about time to pick up some books from Waterstones around politics and international relations, as it’s the area of journalism that I am interested in.

dscf2382

The books I picked up were:

  • Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese.
  • Chavs: The Demonisation of the Working Class by Owen Jones.
  • Child 44 by Tom Rob Smith.
  • The Establishment and how they got away with it by Owen Jones.
  • Breadline Britain: The Rise of Mass Poverty by Stewart Lansley and Joanna Mack.
  • Everyday Sexism by Laura Bates.
  • I am Malala by Malala Yousafzai.

I chose these books because I have an interest in Eastern politics, in sociology and in the politics of Britain.

I’ve been very busy this summer with internships, setting up my YouTube channel and a lot more, but I managed to fit it in. Reading for leisure during the summer has been refreshing, but unfortunately I have been unable to get through all of the books I bought!

I can’t read one book at once for some reason, so I’ve been reading Everyday Sexism and I Am Malala.

Both have been great so far and I’ll definitely be doing some reviews on them in the future when I’ve finished them, so keep watch!

What political books do you like to read? What do you recommend? 

YPE

Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

One comment

  1. A Level Life · · Reply

    I read Everyday Sexism last year and it was really eye opening. I’d recommend ‘Whose Crisis Whose Future?’ by Susan George. It’s all about the problems of the globalised world and how, one way or another, everything that happens 2,000 miles away from us affects us all.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

