World Mental Health Day – #WMHD2015

It was World Mental Health Day on Saturday (10th October), a day where people with mental health problems across the world are recognised.

Being a person with mental health problems on a day such as this can seem a bit patronising, even though the day should have the adverse affect. Of course the event is raising awareness of people with mental health problems but it shouldn’t be limited to just one day should it? I mean mental health problems affect me and many other people everyday as do many health conditions. We should think about it everyday. I’m not condoning the effectiveness of awareness days such as these, I’m all for them. But alas, this post is about this years – World Mental Health Day.

This year’s theme was dignity in mental health. A rather important thing, in my opinion. Other topics have been explored from schizophrenia (last year) to older adults and mindfulness in previous years. Dignity is a poignant word within the health sector, but ultimately in life in general. We want to maintain our dignity – whether this be physically, socially and emotionally. But many of us don’t think about our mental dignity. Does mental dignity even exist? To me it does.

I’m not ashamed to say that before I was diagnosed with my mental health problems, I was at crisis point where my dignity was not in tact as much as would have liked it to be. Mentally, I was letting thoughts in that I shouldn’t. It was difficult. My mental dignity was in tatters. I’m in a much better place now and my physical dignity is a lot better too. Emotional dignity can sometimes be a struggle with my anxiety, but I’m getting there!

Dignity is such a strong word when it comes to health. I’ve heard of many instances where people’s dignity has been lost when they have mental health problems and it is immoral. With mental health problems, the issue is in your mind. There is a belief out there that mental health problems aren’t real because you can’t see them and that that means fakery is at play. Just because you can’t see what is going on in our minds does not give anyone the right to indignify us. What we go through is real!

Tea and talk is a prevalent campaign every year in conjunction with World Mental Health Day, along with the infamous #WMHD hashtag to go with it. The campaign “Tea and Talk” is ran by the Mental Health Foundation and ultimately tells people to do what it says on the cup – to have a cup of tea (or coffee or hot chocolate) and talk. Talking is so important when raising awareness of any issue. But more important with mental health as the stigma is HUGE!

I didn’t get as involved this year due to other commitments, but I definitely support the cause, of course! I’m looking forward to finding out what the theme is next year so I can get even more involved – possibly doing a few videos on my Youtube Channel about it! I’ve been so busy with university, that my channel has taken a backseat so I’m hopefully going to be updating that soon with a few mental health videos so stay tuned!

Did you participate in World Mental Health Day this year? 

If so, what did you do? Comment below. 

YPE

Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

2 comments

  1. This was a great blog post, I loved to read what you had to say about dignity, very interesting!x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Angharad! I appreciate it. 🙂 x

      Like

Leave a Reply

