Seeing what tomorrow brings…

Tomorrow I start my Journalism degree (informally, as it is induction week!). The degree that I will complete and the degree that I will graduate from. Because I done all of the “first time” things before, it’s fair to say that I’m not nervous about doing them again. Of course, I’ll be walking into a new building and I’ll be meeting new people, but I’ve done it before, so I can do it again.

I was expecting to be nervous but I’m actually rather excited. I’ve got butterflies in my stomach, that’s because I’m feeling giddy. I’m not the naive fresher that I was before. The person that was almost pretending to be someone else to fit in (which I would never recommend). I’m not the person with little confidence. I’m the “mature student”, the person that knows who she is and what she wants and the person that has the confidence to say that. I’m completely different to who I was a year ago and perhaps that is a little scary, but university has changed me for the better.

One thing that I am looking forward to is making new friends. Something I would not have said last year. Last year I was dreading this part of “freshers”. This time around I can’t wait to introduce myself to people and make friends. I’ve realised how important it is and how I need support networks other than my partner and my family. I’ve been told that these friendships can last a long time so lets hope I can make some long-term friends!

Of course I’m also looking forward to starting my course. I’ve got a very busy induction week starting from tomorrow, full of journalism and media related things. I want to get stuck into university now, but that will have to wait until next week! I’ve started my reading already too (I know, I know!) but I’m feeling really enthusiastic about this course, more so than I was with my social work course and that is saying something!

Lastly, I am looking forward to getting back to my routine. As much as I’ve loved my lie in’s and Netflix binges, I have found myself getting bored, if I’m not doing something on that day. I did have a lot of stuff to do this summer which was great and the first few weeks of summer were enjoyable but it fizzled out. I can’t wait to get back to the 6AM wake-ups! (That’s just me on that one then?).

I’ll be video-blogging my induction week so keep your eyes posted on my Youtube Channel, as I will be posting it next Sunday!

Are you looking forward to university? 

Comment below!

YPE

Follow me on: FacebookTwitterInstagram & Youtube.

5 comments

  1. I am both excited and nervous about my induction today, hence my being awake at stupid o’clock. 😀 I hope you have a good first day and great fun week. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’ll be fine! Good luck! And you too!

      Like

      1. Thanks Sophie. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re not the only one who likes reading ahead and the 6am wake-ups (I feel so full of energy, even after a 9am lecture)! 🙂 I’m so excited for the new academic year. Good luck to you, I hope you have a wonderful week! (You too Paul Brewer!) I look forward to watching your vlog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m excited for it too now! Thank you, you too! Having a great week so far! And thank you! Nice to know I have a viewer!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

