And so it begins. #TriggerWarning

So I’ve just come out of the GP surgery and it’s fair to say that the stigma is still there. The GP didn’t listen to my problems at all. I’m feeling really disheartened.

I don’t know what to say. Other than that’s what I expected to happen really. They said “I’ll help you” but didn’t offer anything. They want me to go back with a letter from my therapist that I had years ago and want me to see the psychiatry team. I’m experiencing symptoms now but they didn’t understand.

In all honesty I felt stupid sitting in that room. Pouring my heart out to get an outcome like the one I’ve just received. I don’t speak to the therapist anymore. It’s so unfair.

It looks like I’ll have to see another doctor and try again. Or do I give him the letter and see what happens? I’ll decide later. I hate this stigma that surrounds mental health. The GP’s face changed as soon as I said why I was there. I felt judged from that moment onwards.

So I’m no further forward at all. But I will keep trying.

It’s off to university for me now. I have deadlines coming up so ciao for now!

8 comments

  1. primusgamereviews · · Reply

    Friends, parents, siblings, loved ones or heck even the internet- in my experience ten times better than any so-called professional psychiatric help. Yes I know it’s pessimistic, but its the truth. At least people you know and care about will help, guide and comfort you. I mean let’s face it what will the doctor do? Prescribe more pills? Send you to yet another psychiatrist? That’s all they can do really, that’s their designated job.

    Worse come to worst scream into a pillow, get a punching bag hell throw a temper tantrum! Don’t place judgement on your body’s natural response to what you’re facing. Everyone has their outlet you just need to find yours.

    Society places too much judgement in the way we act, if you think people will judge you for it then find a place where you can let loose, and I mean let your raw emotions and expressions out, you may even cry or sound ‘crazy’, again don’t judge it. Trust me you’ll feel better after.

    Like

    1. Thank you for this. šŸ™‚

      Like

      1. primusgamereviews · ·

        You’re welcome! All the best to ya!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you šŸ™‚

        Like

      3. primusgamereviews · ·

        You’re welcome!

        Like

  2. Your GP is a stupid f**ker. A family member could phone your local mental health team on your behalf and explain the situation to them, and see if you can by-pass the GP.

    Like

    1. It’s okay, I’ll find another GP to talk to. šŸ™‚

      Like

      1. Yeah, they aren’t all ignorant idiots.

        Like

Leave a Reply

