Reflection of 2014.

2014 has been a very busy year for me. A year of ups and downs and a year of learning, about myself, personally and professionally. I’ve had interviews for my social work degree, which I successfully gained a place on, in September 2014. I’m really glad that I got into the University of Sunderland. I know it was the right decision for me. Narrowing it down was hard though, because the University of Leeds is a brilliant university, to say the least. But as I said, the University of Sunderland came out on top. From September, I’ve been a busy woman at university. Participating in my course, which I am thoroughly enjoying and intend to keep enjoying. I’m taking part in so many things within the university, I’m a student representative, union council member among other things. I’m also part of the debating society, which I adore! Everyone knows I love debating, well almost everyone! I’m also doing a few other things such as the university professional award and professional mentoring.

I’ve done a lot of volunteering this year too and have found my professional niche. Working with carers is definitely my passion. I started volunteering with the universities mental health awareness group. I’m enjoying raising awareness of mental health issues in students and have enjoyed the events we’ve ran. Hoping to get more involved in the new year, as mental health is also something I am interested in, after having ill mental health this year. I now know how important it is to take care of myself.

I’ve came more in touch with my religion too this year. I’m a Buddhist and have really explored what this means, to me, this year. I’ve decided that I am going to continue with this faith and am going to ensure I meditate more than I do now. Buddhism really fits with my beliefs and my values and I’ve learnt to accept that and not care what others think of me being a Buddhist. Though, I know this is personal and should not move into my professional judgment.

I would never have found out my professional niche (as mentioned before) if I didn’t participate in Twitter chats. I’ve become a more active user on Twitter this year and I’m glad. A lot of opportunities have arisen from using it and I’ve networked a lot and gained a lot of new contacts. I’ve been able to share my passion for my areas of interest and been able to learn. I’ve learnt so much from Twitter about myself, about others and about society as a whole.

In a personal capacity, I’ve found out much more about who I am as a person. I’ve found my identity. I’m Buddhist as I mentioned before, but I feel more secure in who I am as a person and I’m more confident for it. I feel I know what my interests are, what I do and don’t like etc. Something I’ve really struggled with until this year, well until the latter half of this year really. I’ve developed a lot personally. I know I’m enthusiastic, very enthusiastic, but I won’t let that stop me anymore, last year I would have, now, I won’t. It shows I’m passionate and I’m not ashamed of that anymore, I never will be now.

I’ve done a lot of big things this year too, like moving out of home to move to university, going to university and re-starting my driving lessons (kind of!).

All in all, although there has been some downs, there has been a lot more ups. I hope to continue into 2015, happy and with the opportunities I’ve had this year.

Hears to 2014, lets start 2015!

Leave a Reply

